roasted cauliflower and hazelnut salad

Starting from today I’m trying to wean myself off the rich heavy food that I’ve addicted myself to over the last month. I was lucky enough to have received Yotam Ottolenghi’s book Plenty for my birthday a few days ago, however my inspiration for tonight’s supper comes directly from his column in The Guardian.

Ingredients
1 head of cauliflower, broken into small florets
3 tbsp olive oil
Salt and black pepper
30g hazelnuts (I bought pre-roasted, chopped nuts, if you don’t, you will have to incorporate a nut roasting process into the recipe, which will make preparation of the dish twice as long)
1 large stick of celery cut into thin slices
10g flat leaf parsley, chopped
50g pomegranate seeds
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp sherry vinegar (I didn’t have any to hand so used a mixture of sherry and red wine vinegar)
1 tsp maple syrup
Celery salt

Heat the oven to 200C. Pour over 2 tbsp of olive oil over the cauliflower (which you will have already put onto a roasting tin to roast) along with some salt and pepper. Roast for 20 mins, tossing halfway through if necessary.

When cauliflower has cooled, toss it with the other ingredients and a little more olive oil and you will have a delicious and very (in my opinion) different (in a good way) tasting salad as a result.

20120103-212134.jpg

Leave a Reply

