me vs valentine

I’m trying to cook my way through some cook books that are sitting on my shelf – Valentine Warner’s, The Good Table being one.

VW has a recipe for braised ox cheek. Having made ox cheek stew for the first time a few weeks back (by a recipe of my own invention) I was interested to see how this recipe compared. Unfortunately I cannot replicate the recipe here (copyright rules etc.) but what I can say was that the verdict was mixed. Valentine’s recipe gave up a richer, deeper flavour to the stew – something that TC thought was delicious. For me, I found it too heavy, too hearty and preferred my own concoction, finding it more palatable in its stewy lightness. Each to their own though I guess, so no clear winner – this time! Anyway, here it is, prior to being eaten with a chunk of bread.

20120314-133216.jpg

Leave a Reply

