plastic is not fantastic

Packaging waste

This annoys me.  This evening I had to do a quick scoot to the local shop to grab some veggies for supper.  Usually I would go to the lovely greengrocers down the road, but I wasn’t home in time.  Anyway, to create a simple supper for cheesy pasta and vegetables (for two) I was landed with all this plastic waste.  Food packaging contributes millions of tonnes of waste each year in the UK.  It’s not good for the environment, and from a very selfish point of view, means I have to make an awful lot more trip to the wheelie bin to keep my kitchen bin empty.  It seems that food manufacturers aren’t doing huge amounts to combat this either.  And why does the packaging have to be plastic?  Wouldn’t recycled (and recyclable) paper bags be a better answer? 

Leave a Reply

